The Great Lakes Intercollegiate has had its share of upheaval since the 90’s, not unlike most conferences in America. However, nine members from the first wave in the 70’s (when the GLIAC was chartered) are still active members. So, there is some stability. We’ve brought Oakland back into the fold and given them a football team. Mercyhurst and Gannon have returned, as well. And, oh yeah, Lake Superior St now plays football. Those other schools you see in the NCAA GLIAC ... don't worry, you'll see them elsewhere, right where they belong.


I’ve long thought the directional schools from Oklahoma and Arkansas belonged in one cohesive conference. These schools have not only bounced around different leagues over the years, but different classifications…until 2011, when we saw the formation of the Great American Conference. A nebulous name, yet a good start towards uniting these schools under one banner. ICFB’s Southern Sun Conference takes the concept and extends it to its natural conclusion. We’ve placed Harding, SNU and OK Baptist in the CSFL (see Division 9), and replaced them with more established rivals by stocking the Southern Sun pond with Central Arkansas, NE Oklahoma and Panhandle St. Stocking the pond is what we do around here.

Group XI

Rocky Mountain
Adams State
Chadron State
Colorado College
Colorado Mines
Dixie State
Fort Hays State
Fort Lewis
Kearney State
Mesa State
New Mexico Highlands
Pueblo State
Western State

Southern Sun
Arkansas Tech
Central Arkansas
East Central OK
Eastern Arkansas (Monticello)
Northeastern Oklahoma State
Northwestern Oklahoma State
Ouachita Baptist
Panhandle State
Southeastern Oklahoma State
Southern Arkansas
Southwestern Oklahoma State
Western Arkansas (Henderson)

South Atlantic
Mars Hill
North Greenville

Central Missouri State
Eastern Missouri State (UMSTL)
Emporia State
Lincoln MO
Missouri Southern State
Missouri Tech (S&T)
Missouri Western State
Northeast Missouri State (Truman)
Northwest Missouri State
Pittsburg State
Southwest Baptist

Southern Plains
Abilene Christian
Angelo State
Central Oklahoma
East Texas State (Commerce)
Eastern New Mexico
Midwestern State
Tarleton State
Texas A&I (Kingsville)
West Texas A&M
Western New Mexico

Let’s make one thing perfectly clear: the Dakota state schools belong together until the end of time and intercollegiate athletics. Whichever comes first. I’m guessing time. And the North Central Conference (nee NCIAC) was a perfect venue for them. Unfortunately, like time, all things must come to an end eventually. But we can restore some semblance of sanity to the world of college sports by bringing conferences that have been decimated by the realignment nonsense together again. Welcome to the Big North. It’s the NCC with a better name. UND, USD, NDSU and SDSU are reunited. Minnesota St is here; Nebraska St is here; Augustana is here; St Cloud is here. It’s like Grease, the old gang is back together! Eastern Nebraska (Wayne St) has been added. And, just for kicks and giggles, and because the Big North needed more teams (but mostly for kicks and giggles), I thought “wouldn’t it be a hoot for the Alaska schools to play football”. I really did say that, ask anyone who was there. And if you’re going to have Alaska schools playing football (and seriously, why has this not happened yet), what better conference than one called the Big North. Alaska is the epitome of Big and North. So extend a big college football welcome to the Seawolves and Nanooks.

Division 4

Gulf South
Delta State
East Alabama (JaxSt)
Florida Gulf Coast
Florida Southern
Florida Tech
Mississippi College
North Alabama
North Florida
Valdosta State
West Alabama
West Florida
West Georgia

Take a quick glance at the Southern Plains Athletic Conference. What does it remind you of? The Lone Star, of course. Not only do we not use state names for conferences in Ideal College Sports, we also don’t use state nicknames. Otherwise, the Southern Plains is essentially intact from its NCAA cousin. The one big exception is the inclusion of Abilene. Seriously, what are these guys smoking? The Wildcats belong here, and only here. So here they are. We’re also bringing UCO back into the fold, and reinstating Cameron’s football program. One note for the future: Permian Basin will be joining the SPAC for season 2, filling out the conference with 12 schools. So keep a weather eye on the horizon.

Big North
Alaska (Anchorage)
Alaska A&M (Fairbanks)
Augustana SD
Eastern Nebraska (Wayne)
Minnesota State
Nebraska State (Omaha)
North Dakota
North Dakota State
South Dakota
South Dakota State
St Cloud State

The Mid-America Intercollegiate has juggled membership as frequently as any conference. There should be an award for this, and I’m thinking something along the lines of the Darwin Awards: play yourself into extinction. Actually, the MIAA has kept a core group of schools intact through the years, so I’ll save the sarcasm for another conference. In fact, nine of the current members of the NCAA Mid-America are in the conference in ICFB. We’re bringing NE Missouri and Missouri Tech back, and awarding a team to Eastern Missouri St (UM-STL).

Group XII


The South Atlantic had been a bastion of stability over the years, maintaining the core of eight schools (Carson-Newman, Catawba, Elon, Gardner-Webb, Lenoir-Rhyne, Mars Hill, Newberry and Presbyterian) that gave it the early moniker SAC-8. Wingate, Tusculum and Brevard joined later. As time went by, and springs yielded to autumns, three of these schools made the decision to jump to the FCS level. Bad idea. ICFB returns these wayward sons to the SAC. North Greenville (who had been playing football as an independent) jumps on the train, and the result is a solid 12-team South Atlantic.

The Rocky Mountain Athletic has been around for a long time, currently the oldest active conference in NCAA D-II. In the early years, the RMAC contained many schools that are in major conferences today, eg Mountain West, Big Sky. The roster is impressive. ICFB’s Rocky Mountain mirrors the NCAA version by sharing nine schools (including Dixie St). Of the seven who aren’t included in ICFB, five are non-football institutions, and the other two (Black Hills and SD Tech) clearly belong elsewhere (see the NPAC in Division 9). We have filled in the RMAC by bringing Kearney and Fort Hays fully back in, while resuscitating Colorado College’s football program.

Another Darwin Award finalist, the Gulf South has had a dizzying array of schools over the years, mostly because they seem to be unaware of their true identity. It's simple. This is where the southeastern directional schools that aren’t in the Sun Belt belong: North Alabama, West Alabama, East Alabama (Jax St), West Georgia, West Florida, Florida Southern (new program), North Florida (new program), FL Gulf Coast (new program). Mainstays Delta St and Valdosta St (quick survey: should we rename Valdosta as the Univ of South Georgia? I could go either way), along with the return of Mississippi College and the welcoming of Florida Tech. This is the Gulf South your grandpappy intended. But with cheerleaders and beer and stuff.

Groovin' with Division 4? -- Become an Idealist!

Group X

Mountain North
California PA
East Stroudsburg
Indiana PA
Lock Haven
Slippery Rock
West Chester

Mountain North = PSAC. No state names for conferences ‘round these parts, pilgrim. The NCAA PSAC was traditionally 14 schools, so when setting up ICFB Mountain North, it was obvious that two schools needed to go. And no, I did not flip a coin. Utilizing a strict and calculated scientific analysis, it was decided that Millersville and Mansfield were the ones to emigrate, thus they were shipped off to the Eastern Mountain in Division 5. The remaining 12 schools are all here. No muss no fuss.

Great Lakes Intercollegiate
Ferris State
Grand Valley State
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Northern Michigan
Saginaw Valley State
Wayne State